Students' Union News

Results Announced for 2014 SU General Election

March 6, 2014



After weeks of campaigning and candidate forums, undergraduate students at the University of Calgary have elected a new slate of student leaders for 2014-2015.  Jarett Henry is the new President-elect, capturing 36 percent of votes. Henry served as a Faculty of Arts Representative for the SU in 2013-2014.  The new Vice President, Academic will be Hana Kadri, who had 55 percent of the vote.  Levi Nilson will be the new Vice President, External, garnering 41 percent of the vote and Jonah Ardiel won the Vice President, Student Life with 43 percent of the vote.  Adam Swertz takes on the role of Vice President, Operations and Finance with 54 percent of the vote.

Michael Smith won the Board of Governors position with 52 percent of the vote. The two Senate representative positions will be filled by Emily Macphail and Scott Vu taking 35 and 23 percent of the votes respectively. The positions of Faculty Representative Nursing and Faculty Representative Social Work remain vacant. Vacant positions are usually filled during the Students’ Union’s annual by-election in October.

Voter turn-out this year increased by one percent to 28.8 percent of eligible student voters with 7,379 students casting a ballot. These results become official on Mar. 14, 2014.

Newly elected officials will be sworn into office on Friday, May 2, 2014 at the annual Students’ Union’s Colour Night ceremony.  Over the summer months, this new team of capable young leaders will be engaged in strategic planning to take the Students’ Union into the 2014 fall semester.

Other results include:

In a referendum question, 57 percent of students voted against increasing the fee collected on behalf of CJSW 90.9FM and 61 percent of students voted against the Students’ Union proposal to create a MacEwan Student Centre Building Redevelopment Fee.

The Students’ Legislative Council (SLC) also consists of 18 faculty representatives.  The number of faculty representatives sitting on SLC corresponds with the number of students in a given faculty. Eight faculty representative positions were won through acclamation.  The following faculty representatives will serve on The 72nd Students’ Legislative Council.

Faculty Representatives Arts (4) -

Sara Amiry
Kirsty Mcgowan
Lexi  Narowski
Kalista Sherbaniuk

Faculty Representative Medicine –
Carsten Krueger

Faculty Representative Science (3) –
Keean Bexte
Amy  Li
Taylor Woo

Faculty Representatives Schulich School of Engineering (2) –
Brayden Kooistra
Parsa Samavati

Faculty Representative Kinesiology –
Stephan Guscott

Faculty Representative Veterinary Medicine –
Blythe Sola

The Chief Returning Officer declared the following students as Faculty Representatives by acclamation:

Faculty Representative Werklund School of Education –
Sherin Mohammad

Faculty Representatives Haskayne School of Business (2) –
Jasmine Chitroda
Tyler Hodgson

Faculty Representative Law –
George Huang


Media Contact:

Robyn Dinnadge, Director, Marketing and Communications
(403) 210-9852 / (403) 461-1309 (cell)

For Further Election Information:

Chris Yan, Chief Returning Officer
(403) 220-5780


Photographs by Gene Baines:

Jarett Henry (centre) - 72nd President, top-left.

Adam Swertz (centre)- 72nd VP Operations and Finance, top-right.

Chris Yan, Chief Returning Officer - announces referendum results, bottom-left.

Students reaction to 61% vote against the MSC Building Redevelopment Fee, bottom-right.

Results Announced for 2014 SU General Election
Results Announced for 2014 SU General Election
Results Announced for 2014 SU General Election
Results Announced for 2014 SU General Election