Results Announced for 2012 SU General Election

Results announced for 2012 SU General Election
New SU Executive and other officials to be sworn in April 27th


March 8, 2012

After weeks of campaigning and candidate forums, undergraduate students at the University of Calgary have elected a new slate of student leaders for 2012-2013.  Hardave Birk is the new President-elect, capturing 56 per cent of votes. Birk served as the Vice President, External for the SU in 2010-2011.  The new Vice President, Academic will be Kenya-Jade Pinto, who had 53 per cent of the vote. Raphael Jacob takes on the role of Vice President, External with 57 per cent of the vote while Scott Weir is the new Vice President, Operations and Finance with 59 per cent of the vote. Hayley Wade won the Vice President, Student Life with 50 per cent of the vote.

Vincent St. Pierre won the Board of Governors position with 52 per cent of the vote. Matt Diteljan and Patrick Straw were both acclaimed as the new Senate representatives.

This year’s voter turn-out was 22.5 per cent of eligible student voters with more than 5700 students casting a ballot.

Newly elected officials will be sworn into office on Friday, Apr. 27, 2012 at the annual Students’ Union’s Colour Night ceremony.  Over the summer months, this new team of capable young leaders will be engaged in strategic planning to take the Students’ Union into the 2012 fall semester.

Other results include:

The Students’ Legislative Council (SLC) consists of faculty representatives.  The number of faculty representatives sitting on SLC corresponds with the number of students in a given faculty. Four faculty representative positions were won through acclamation while one faculty representative position remains vacant.  Vacant positions are usually filled during the Students’ Union’s annual by-election in October.

The following faculty representatives will serve on The 70th Students’ Legislative Council.

Faculty Representatives Arts (4) -  

Hana Kadri
Sarah Damberger
Jack Mills
Kelsy Norman


Faculty Representatives Schulich School of Engineering (2) –

Trevor Bestwick
Tyler Fischer


Faculty Representatives Haskayne School of Business (2) –

Justin Pon
Carol Yan


Faculty Representative Medicine –

Stefana Pancic


Faculty Representative Science (3) – 

Olabode (Sam) Adegbayike

Marvi Cheema

Tyler Pentland


Faculty Representative Nursing –

Riley Simister


The Chief Returning Officer declared the following students as Faculty Representatives by acclamation:

Faculty Representative Education –

Alyssa Stacy


Faculty Representative Kinesiology –

Calindy Ramsden


Faculty Representative Veterinary Medicine –

Evan Lowe


Faculty Representative Law  –

Waqas Iqbal


The following position has been declared vacant:

Social Work Faculty Representative




Media Contact:

Robyn Dinnadge, Manager, Marketing and Communications 

(403) 210-9852/ (403) 461-1309 (cell)


For Further Election Information:

Rabiya Mansoor, Chief Returning Officer

(403) 477-8509

Results Announced for 2012 SU General Election
Results Announced for 2012 SU General Election
su_2012_election_results.pdf24.01 KB