March 8, 2018  |   Found in Elections // News

March 8, 2018

New SU Executive and Other Officials to be Sworn in April 27th

After weeks of campaigning and candidate forums, undergraduate students at the University of Calgary have elected a new slate of student leaders for 2018-2019. President-elect Sagar Grewal was acclaimed after serving as SU Kinesiology Representative for the last two years. The Vice President, External will continue to be Puncham Judge, who had 52 percent of the vote. Jessica Revington will be the new Vice President, Academic, garnering 52 percent of the vote. Kevin Dang won the Vice President, Operations and Finance with 61 percent of the vote, and Nabila Farid takes on the role of Vice President, Student Life with 38 percent of the vote.

The two Senate representative positions will be filled by Alisha Gordon and Anayat Sidhu, both of whom captured 38 percent of the votes. Frank Finley was elected as the Board of Governors representative with 37 percent of the vote. The position of Werklund School of Education Representative and one of the Schulich School of Engineering Representative positions remain vacant. Vacant positions are filled during the Students’ Union’s annual By-Election in October.

The number of students who voted in this year’s election was 6,552, 107 more than last year. However, as a percentage of eligible student voters, voter turn-out decreased slightly by 0.36 percent to 24.80 percent. These results become official on March 19, 2018.

Newly elected officials will be sworn into office on Friday, April 27, 2018 at the annual Students’ Union’s Colour Night ceremony. Over the summer months, this new team of capable young leaders will be engaged in strategic planning to take the Students’ Union into the 2018 fall semester.

Other results include:

The Students’ Legislative Council (SLC) also consists of 19 faculty representatives. The number of faculty representatives sitting on SLC corresponds with the number of students in a given faculty. Eight faculty representative positions were won through acclamation. The following faculty representatives were elected to serve on the 76th Students’ Legislative Council.

Faculty Representatives, Arts (4) -

Marley Gillies
Raquel Jackson
Dana Nasser
Quinn Stevenson

Faculty Representatives, Cumming School of Medicine (2) –

Jarin Thundathil
Mairéad Whelan

Faculty Representatives, Haskayne School of Business (2) –

Ananya Ayachit
Davis Lougheed

Faculty Representative, Kinesiology –

Mathieu Chin

The Chief Returning Officer declared the following students as Faculty Representatives by acclamation:

Faculty Representative, Law –
Bassam Saifeddine

Faculty Representative, Nursing –
Candace Cho

Faculty Representatives, Schulich School of Engineering (2) –
Ahsen Imran

Faculty Representative, Science (3) –
Hyatt Mokhtar
F. Sadiya Nazir
Michael Nguyen

Faculty Representative, Social Work –
Marissa Bennett

Faculty Representative, Veterinary Medicine –
Julie Choi

- 30 -

Media Contact:

Jason Morgan, Director, Marketing and Communications
(403) 210-9852 / (403) 464-4065 (cell)

For Further Election Information:

Hamnah Altaf and Dave Antoniak, Chief Returning Officers
(403) 220-2961

Photo Credit: Gene Baines

All photos available at:
All photos by Gene Baines

GE2018-Results-2428  – Ananya Ayachit – Haskayne Rep.
GE2018-Results-2451 – Nabila Farid – VP Student Life
GE2018-Results-2436 – Raquel Jackson – Faculty of Arts Rep.
GE2018-Results-2454 – Kevin Dang – VP Operations & Finance
GE2018-Results-2448 – Jessica Revington – VP Academic
GE2018-Results-2443 – Sagar Grewal – President (Acclaimed)
GE2018-Results-2460 – 76th SLC Group (left to right):
Jessica Revington (VP Academic), Puncham Judge (VP External), Sagar Grewal (President), Nabila Farid (VP Student Life), Kevin Dang (VP Operations & Finance)