March 7, 2019  |   Found in Advocacy // Elections // News // Press-release


New SU Executive and Other Officials to be Sworn in May 3rd

March 7, 2019

After weeks of campaigning and candidate forums, undergraduate students at the University of Calgary have elected a new slate of student leaders for 2019-2020. Jessica Revington is the new President-elect, capturing 47 percent of the votes. Jessica is currently the SU’s Vice President, Academic. The new Vice President, External will be Sadiya Nazir, who had 76 percent of the vote. Kevin Dang, this year’s Vice President, Operations and Finance, was acclaimed as next year’s Vice President, Academic. Omer Mansoor won the Vice President, Operations and Finance position with 52 percent of the vote and Alisha Gordon will take on the role of Vice President, Student Life, having also run unopposed.

The two Senate representative positions will be filled by Raquel Jackson and Jonah Secreti, who captured 41 and 30 percent of the votes respectively. Ananya Ayachit was elected as the Board of Governors representative with 55 percent of the vote. The positions of Faculty of Social Work Representative, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Representative, and one of the Haskayne School of Business Representatives remain vacant. Vacant positions are filled during the Students’ Union’s annual By-Election in October.

The number of students who voted in this year’s election was 5,671 which is 21.14 percent of eligible student voters. This is a 3.66 percent decrease over last year. These results become official on March 15, 2019.

Newly elected officials will be sworn into office on Friday, May 3, 2019 at the annual Students’ Union’s Colour Night ceremony. Over the summer months, this new team of capable young leaders will be engaged in annual planning to take the Students’ Union into the 2019 fall semester.

Other results include:

In a referendum question, 62 percent of students voted in favour of increasing by $0.75 per semester (for full time students) the fee collected to support the SU’s Volunteer Services department. Volunteer Services provides volunteer opportunities for more than 400 students each year and runs 11 programs including the SU Campus Food Bank and the Q Centre.

The Students’ Legislative Council (SLC) also consists of 19 faculty representatives. The number of faculty representatives sitting on SLC corresponds with the number of students in a given faculty. Five faculty representative positions were won through acclamation. The following faculty representatives were elected to serve on the 77th Students’ Legislative Council.

Faculty Representatives, Arts (4) -

  • Marley Gillies
  • Justin Gotta
  • Rayane Issa
  • Ayotomiwa Oje

Faculty Representatives, Cumming School of Medicine (2) –

  • Amy Beevor-Potts
  • Siavash Zarezadeh

Faculty Representatives, Schulich School of Engineering (2) –

  • Keely Lindsay
  • Barney Miao

Faculty Representative, Science (3) –

  • Angie Hu
  • Michael Nguyen
  • Manpreet Sahota

The Chief Returning Officers declared the following students as Faculty Representatives by acclamation:

Faculty Representatives, Haskayne School of Business (2) –

  • Maggie Shortt

Faculty Representative, Kinesiology –

  • Mathieu Chin

Faculty Representative, Law –

  • Dalal Souraya

Faculty Representative, Nursing –

  • Candace Cho

Faculty Representative, Werklund School of Education –

  • Georgia East



Photo credit: Gene Baines