Undergrads Rewarded for Excellence in Research for 2018

December 3, 2018  |   Found in News

Nov. 30, 2018

A record $30,500 was awarded to undergraduate researchers at a special ceremony last night. The winners of the 13th annual Students’ Union’s (SU) Undergraduate Research Symposium were announced in 22 different categories, up from 16 categories last year.  A team of more than 55 judges made up of faculty and staff from the University of Calgary had the difficult task of determining the best submissions.

During the ceremony, Peter Garrett, the university’s Associate Vice-President of Research Innovation, presented a keynote. He shared his accomplishments in the field of technology and innovation and spoke of how research has shaped his personal journey.

The research showcase portion of the symposium took place in Mac Hall on Nov. 27. This year, the 102 students who were selected to share their research could do so through oral or display presentations, not just posters. The symposium also provided a great networking venue for student researchers and a chance to meet professional researchers.  More than 350 members of the campus community took time to visit the event.

“Research is always evolving, and so URS should keep pace as well” said the SU’s VP Academic Jessica Revington on this year’s expanding event. “We spoke with past participants and judges to gather their feedback and let their suggestions drive the evolution of the URS. The diversity of this year’s winners is an indication that we succeeded in making the symposium accessible to everyone”


See below for a full list of this year’s winners. For URS award winners for prior events, see the URS Winners List.

2018 Undergraduate Research Symposium Winners

Faculty of Arts (2 x $1,000)

  • Hangsel Sanguino
  • Elizabet Rajchel

Cumming School of Medicine (4 x $1,000)

  • Amanda Neves
  • Nadia Narendran
  • Fahad Iqbal
  • Alexandra Greenslade

Faculty of Science (3 x $1,000, 1 x $500)

  • Winner - Emily Hanniman
  • Winner - Joseph Mercado
  • Winner - Tanille Shandro
  • Runner Up - Maharshi Gandhi

Faculty of Kinesiology (1 x $500)

  • Sadhiq Hussain Nazeer

Faculty of Nursing Student Impact (1 x $500)

  • Emma Nickel

Werklund School of Education (1 x $1,000)

  • Janine Pelletier

Schulich School of Engineering (2 x $1,000)

  • Christina Bueckert
  • Jessica Corpuz

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (1 x $1,000)

  • Saud Sunba

Faculty of Social Work (1 x $1,000)

  • Kendal David

Graduate Students’ Association Future Innovator (1 x $1,000, 1 x $500)

  • Winner – Bryan Ma
  • Runner Up – Rahul Arora

Office of the President (1 x $1,000)

  • Ryan Lee

Office of the Vice-President (Research) (2 x $1,000)

  • Aasima Gadiwan
  • Michelle Chen

Office of the Vice-Provost (Libraries) (1 x $500, 1 x $250)

  • Winner - Alyssa Carruthers
  • Runner Up - Mathieu Chin

Provost’s Award for Excellence in Internationally-Focused Research (2 x $1,000)

  • Brooke Bull
  • Robyn Thomas

The Judges’ Choice Award (1 x $1,000)

  • Lea Caplan

SU Sustainability Fund (1 x $1,000, 1 x $500)

  • Winner – Thinh Tuan Tong
  • Runner Up – Adrien Takada

The Chancellor’s Award (1 x $1,000)

  • Moiz Hafeez

Office of the Vice Provost (Teaching and Learning) Programs in Undergraduate Research (PURE) Award (1 x $1,000)

  • Amrita Saini

Office of Diversity, Equity and Protected Disclosure Award for DEI Excellence (2 x $1,000)

  • Kayla Ueland
  • Shifa Hayat

The CASE (Consent and Sexual Education) Award (1 x $250)

  • Pooja Rani Sohal

ATB Financial Award (1 x $500)

  • Fazeela Mulji

UCalgary Alumni Community Impact (1 x $500)

  • Rachel Huh