Teaching Excellence Awards Winners 2020

Normally we celebrate our Teaching Excellence Award winners by hosting a ceremony at the end of April. But there is nothing normal about this year! So we asked these exceptional teachers to help us put together a virtual ceremony. Congratulations and heartfelt thanks to all of these inspiring teachers!

The Students’ Union (SU) are paying tribute to 37 faculty members, instructors, and teaching assistants for their commitment to student success from a safe distance this year. The annual Teaching Excellence Awards (TEA) is the SU’s campus-wide recognition program which gives undergraduate students the chance to decide which instructors and teaching assistants have made a lasting, positive impression in the classroom. Student feedback is the basis on which all nominees and winners are determined.

The SU has been honouring outstanding teaching at the university since 1975, with the Teaching Excellence Awards being handed out in their current form for the first time in 1984. From the start, the awards were intended to provide students with the opportunity to give feedback on the quality of university instruction. They have contributed to teaching excellence remaining a key priority for the institution, exemplified by the Eyes High vision to enrich the quality and breadth of learning at the University of Calgary.

Teaching Assistant Winners

Name Faculty
Rebecca Booth Faculty of Science
Austin Che Faculty of Science
Marissa Clapson Faculty of Science
Brandon Ferguson Schulich School of Engineering
Dania Idriss Faculty of Arts
Nicholas Massaro Faculty of Kinesiology
Lauren McMillan Faculty of Science
Ronald Miksha Faculty of Science
Tony Stevens Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Ryan Toth Faculty of Science

Teaching Excellence Honourable Mentions

Name Faculty
Judy Anderson Faculty of Arts
Kerry Black Schulich School of Engineering
Dr. Cari Din Faculty of Kinesiology
Ryan Hamilton Faculty of Science
Katherine Mueller Werklund School of Education
Thuntida Ngamkham Haskayne School of Business
Allen Sandwell Schulich School of Engineering
David Wright Faculty of Law

Teaching Excellence Award Winners

Name Faculty Award
Dr. Fabiola Aparicio-Ting Cumming School of Medicine
Rachel Friedman Faculty of Arts
Kathleen Hughes Faculty of Arts
Safaneh Mohaghegh Neyshabouri Faculty of Arts
Alexander Whalley Faculty of Arts
Carol A. Gibbons Kroeker Faculty of Kinesiology
Lorian Hardcastle Faculty of Law
Margarita Gil Faculty of Nursing
Dr. Ania Harlick Faculty of Science
Peter Hoyer Faculty of Science
Jerrod Smith Faculty of Science
Lesley Taylor Faculty of Social Work
Campbell Rolian Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Phil Davidson Haskayne School of Business
Syed Rahat Ali Jafri Haskayne School of Business
Mina Iskander Schulich School of Engineering
Qi Zhou Schulich School of Engineering
Karen Dittrick Werklund School of Education

Hall of Fame

Name Faculty
Zenaida Roxas Boerhave Faculty of Nursing